Dili

Here I am in Dili at last, and nearly all ready to go.

The plane arrived here this morning at 7.15 local time and deposited me and a couple of dozen of the 400 or so riders in this event on the tarmac.  I think we were just about the last group to arrive.

My bike wasn’t on the plane, but they assured me that it and about 20 other bikes would be coming on a separate plane and would arrive before 1pm.  No sweat.

The race HQ here in Dili is the Timor Lodge – which was once a UN compound I think.  The Lonely Planet describes accommodation in Dili as falling into two categories – crap, and not crap.  I don’t think Timor Lodge makes it into the latter category in the book, but it seems perfectly adequate for a bunch of mountain bikers who, let’s face it, will find conditions much crapper over the next week.

I’m having a few technical issues already with cameras not working, or not downloading to the laptop.  And then there’s the issue of access, which is available here in Dili (although it’s not the fastest) but I’m not too sure about access for the next week.  This may be the last post.

Bwa bwa bwaaaaaaaa

No, not the Last Post.  Just my last post, and just for a while.

Off to a final riders’ briefing now.  Somehow I have to have all my bags packed and loaded for the trucks tonight.  Not sure what I’m supposed to do *overnight* – sleep in lycra and brush my teeth with my fingers I guess.  Maybe all will be revealed.

post scriptum:

all my plans are laid to waste.  I have some kind of computer glitch stopping my from uploading video onto the laptop.  Not that it matters that much, because the internet here is so slow that it’ll be tomorrow before I could get today’s video up anyway.  If there is a today’s video.
😦

Not to worry.

Also, just got back from the riders’ briefing.  Lots of scary stuff about being careful and not ending up in the medical tent.  On the lighter side, the medical tent sounds like they have some very switched on people, and the capacity to whack a fair number of us on IV fluids if needed.  Hmmm…

And it’s true, I have to give them my bags NOW, and only hang on to what I need to for the stage tomorrow.

Oh well.

Thanks for all your comments and your support folks, it’s been very heartening.  Hopefully I’ll get to post something else in the next few days, otherwise you’ll have to put up with “no news is good news”.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg Marsh
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 20:06:00

    Good luck John! Have a fun adventure and stay upright 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sandra Smith
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 20:49:54

    Lol .. you’ll be right .. we’ll wait for the journo to fill us in when the time is right .. in the mean time .. wow! .. enjoy the journey!

    Reply

  3. scottsabode
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 01:26:02

    Have fun!

    Reply

  4. Heidi
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 11:00:09

    But you know technology is never reliable, especially when you need it to be.

    Good luck John! Looking forward to photos and more tales of epic adventures (hopefully not involving the medical tent)!

    Reply

  5. Jeff
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 19:32:54

    Hope all is going well JohnTV. I am in Sydney at an aged care conference; you are in Timor on a mountain bike epic. Says it all I think. It may take two or three lattes at Odos to capture the essence of your experience.

    Reply

  6. Oliver, Ruby and Rose
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 06:12:18

    Hi Dr John! This is Oliver, Ruby and Rose. You were good friends with our Uncle Orlando and Auntie Doris. We hope you are having a good time on your bike ride and are staying safe. We look forward to hearing more about your adventures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

