How many sleeps?

Time is a funny thing, isn’t it?
I imagine this is a common experience – you wait for something, some event, to arrive. You wait for months, and it seems like it is ages away. You wait for weeks, and you know it’s getting closer, but you’re still waiting. Then suddenly there’s only one more sleep. How did it come around so quickly?
So there you have it – one more sleep and I’m off.

Kind of.
Tomorrow I fly to Darwin (via Canberra), where I get to spend the night, before flying on to Dili on Saturday morning.
So I suppose I really have two sleeps to go, not one.
Actually, when I get to Dili I get to spend the day and the night there before the race actually begins on Sunday.
Hmmmm. Three sleeps?
I prefer to think of it as “one sleep to go”. Sounds better.

Here’s a brief video that the TdT organisation just posted, by way of a teaser:

Looks good, huh? I bet you wish you were coming too, don’t you. Next year, perhaps….

Or maybe we could go to Champery in Switzerland, and have a go at some downhill MTB action. Check out this video of the winning ride from this year’s UCI event. Be sure to turn the volume up loud – the commentary is nearly as good as the bike riding!

In case you’re wondering, I don’t expect anything like this in Timor Leste. The Tour de Timor is mostly on roads, or things that pass for roads.

Next time I post will probably be from Darwin I should think. I get there early afternoon tomorrow, and leave again early Saturday morning. My bike will probably stay packed away in its box, but I suppose I could get it out. Anyone been to Darwin and want to suggest what I should do or see in that short time?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 12:55:39

    LOOK AT THE WHIP;;;;; Is that world championship down hill or the english league shouting championships

    Reply

  2. Dan Rake
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 14:11:43

    I hope the trip to Timor lives up to everything you expect and hope for – it remains one of the best events I’ve ever done. It’ll be hot in Darwin and an ice cold beer will be very attractive but push past that and head down to the man made beach area for a croc free swim in ocean water. Get all the rest you can – 6 BIG Days Ahead – Enjoy and good luck!

    Reply

  3. scottsabode
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 17:56:25

    Have fun Dr Bikenarian!

    Reply

  4. lizzie
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 18:45:35

    TANK GORD FUH DUNNY! HOW FUST CUN DAT MUN GOH!

    Good luck spud, looking forward to hearing your progress reports, and watching your video technique improve (not that i havent seen tremendous examples of cyclists arses flying down ferntree gully road already). never know i might be tempted next year if the going’s not too tough for a sheila.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

